Striving for perfection

Image

Want the perfect pie crust, got it. Need to use an old sweater to create 20 different crafts, done. Want to make your whole home smell amazing with stuff in the yard, check. Redecorate or reorganize without spending a dime?

The internet is a stay at home moms playground with a million and a half ideas just floating around begging to be pinned but in the world of social media it has only exaggerated the need for perfection.  I love pinterest like the next mom but it is not practical to have homes that look like those pins, meals cooked like those pins, laundry rooms,pantries and cabinets organized like those pins, children dressed like those pins, and all the home made DIY activities like those pins all in the same day whilst moms sanity in tact.  Its wonderful to strive for perfection but its not practical.  I posted a status on facebook about my day yesterday and figured I would elaborate on my blog after some of the response from other moms going through the exact same thing.  I have a 1 year old who is into her exploration stage.  I am convinced the child is trying to test the theory that she is a cat and has 9 lives.  She loves to put batteries in her mouth so now the remote goes up on the fireplace mantle because that little back you cant get off when the batteries are dead, she has perfected.  If she sees you are coming for her she BOOKS it in the opposite direction, usually wiping out on the hardwood floors or running staight into a corner (yes this has happened on multiple occasions) she likes to climb things and decides half way up she is done and will now let go, she rides her 3 year old brothers bike, climbs out of her crib, gets her knee so stuck in the crib I thought I would have to break it, the crib not her knee, and she loves WALKING up and down the stairs, oy vey.  And yes you heard that right she JUST turned one.  Lamenting to my husband I rehashed my day, and let me just say he is so amazing and patient with me when I need to just vent.  Stay at home moms are expected to keep this pinterest perfect home, have enlightened toddlers who get to help mommy clean and cook, have all freshly prepared organic meals, and somehow keep the littles alive while doing it all? I think its a conspiracy. Some days yes it does work that way.  Usually because I cleaned the night before once they were in bed, took them out of the home the next day so they could not destroy my house, put them down for naps as soon as we get home, do some laundry and cook while napping and then do an activity that requires very few items before husband comes home for dinner. It sounds lovely but hardly ever happens that way.  Usually I get home, the phone rings, I answer and 10 minutes later I hang up, look down and half of the things in our pantry are on the floor somehow all the while with me standing right there in the kitchen.  Or my 3 year old decided food coloring was icing and ate some (yes this happened yesterday) or he got the jar of sprinkles and decorated EVERY.SQUARE.INCH of our downstairs living space (has happened more than 3 times) or he found the markers and decided he wants to wear a mask (yea check our my FB pics for that one).  My point is that at the end of the day, me being some what sane equals a win.  Kids being fed and at least half of the house being picked up, double win. Pinterest is amazing and no one is doubting that, but when kids are in the picture, predictability along with many other things goes out the window.  I have to remind myself of these things daily.  The reason is, sometimes I find myself getting so frustrated by the fact that the floors I spent an hour cleaning now need to be redone, or that the laundry I spent hours folding now suddenly need refolding because Roan came in and said “Hey mom, watch this cool trick” (my husband is laughing after reading this because he can see and rehear it being played in his head and she pictures are son running through piles of folded clothes and throwing them in the air like handfuls of snow) as he undoes all my hard work.  In the daily frustrations and let downs its too easy to forget how amazing it is that I get to be home with my kids every day and know them individually inside and out.  I do not have to drop them off some place else and go sit at a desk where someone else gets to watch them discover how to get the back of the remote control off so they can eat the batteries, or let someone else make cookies with them, or hear “hey Mom watch this cool trick” as his face lights up as experiences the joy of running through folded laundry.  Being a stay at home mom is the hardest job in the world!  It never ends; as in your work around the clock, and very rarely goes appreciated, but in the end it is worth it to be paid in hugs, kisses, giggles and even cries.  I adore being the one to hold my baby who fell short conquering the yard and I get to be the one who’s hugs and kisses make it all better.  The perfect home doesn’t happen when little ones are in the house.  It happens when they are no longer roaming around playing at your feet. It happens when they no longer need you and suddenly you have the time to try all the pins out and there is no one there to mess it up.  While the days are long and my sanity is test daily, I would never trade it for anything because I have my babies here with me and I recognize what an amazing blessing that is each and every day, or at least today I do 🙂

One thought on “Striving for perfection

  1. Oh having the perfect husband is a whole other post in itself. I could never pen the love, respect and adoration I have for that man and do it justice. He makes me who I am and completes me and I would be absolutely lost without him.

Leave a Reply

